Kayaking Near Salt Lake City

Kayaking has been a wonderful way for me to reconnect with nature, especially living a life in addiction recovery where so many things can be triggers. I can load the kayak on the roof of the car, head out, and be on the water just about whenever I want. The great thing about kayaking is there are so many options, especially near Salt Lake City on in Utah, for different types of experiences. I can do an easy day of lake cruising, flow a lay river, or get the endorphins and adrenaline pumping with some whitewater! Point is, kayaking offers me an escape from the worries of addiction, and I can counteract those feelings with any type of kayaking experience I want…because Utah offers such amazing things. Here are a few of my favorite places to kayak in Utah.

If Im keyed up, need a break from the world, and a place to recharge my state of mental health I go straight to Lake Powell. I typically end up at the same place overtime. You guessed it..Antelope Canyon.

For the more intense days, you know…where I could punch the next person who looks at me wrong…there’s Weber River!

Then, If I’m just feeling some beautiful scenery, the place I head for is Causey Reservoir.

As with everything I do now a days, kayaking is way for me to stay grounded in recovery and keep my mental state in check. It’s another great way to keep me mindful and connected to the world around me. It teaches me to soak it all in and live in the moment.

Leave a Reply

